Dear Luca

You’re in good spirits today and are settled in front of the tv watching football. It’s your Christmas assembly next week but you won’t be taking part, unless I can convince you otherwise.

You were the loudest singer when you first started practising, singing ‘Mary and Jesus’, apparently the second song overwhelmed you and you’ve refused to take part since. We’ve had a chat and you told me that the second song is too difficult for you because you couldn’t remember the words. You remember the words to more pop songs than any other person I know, so that surprised me.

I think we’ve reached a compromise, you’ll sing the first song and come and sit with me while the others carry on with the second one. You usually love to sing so I really hope all goes to plan. I know you’ll love it once you’re up there on that stage.

Love mum

