Dear Luca

Our family has just got bigger. We have a little kitten and have called him ‘Sam I am’, inspired by Dr Seuss. He’s settled in really quickly, you’re still a bit unsure though. It’s like having a baby all over again. Every morning he wakes me up at 4am to play, I have to take him out my room and shut the door.

Yesterday you shouted at him quite a bit, then felt bad and apologised saying “I’m sorry I was rude to you Sam I am”. He is a right character, slowly but surely destroying my furniture and jeans. He likes to sit on my lap while I work, when I go out and return he is looking out the window, waiting for me. I wanted Sam I am to be yours, but because I’m home most of the day he’s attached himself to me.

I’m sure it’s just a matter of time before you love him like I do. I think you could be a little jealous that someone else is getting my attention; I’m encouraging you to play with him more. You still tell him to ‘sit’ and ask for his paw, he’s not like Chloe’s dog Dennis. He’s a cat and cats don’t do those things, but you’ll soon figure that out for yourself.

Love mum

